Advice for getting started

Hello,

I’m new to land investing and I’m still looking to land my first deal, although I’m not having very good luck getting started. I selected a county in Florida I thought looked good and sent out 500 postcards to a tax delinquent list from the county. With that I only received 4 phone calls in return and no leads worth noting, since then I’ve sent two more mailers to the same list, each with 300 postcards and have still had no good leads come from it. I’ve offered as much as 40% if what I think I could resell some of these parcels for, and still no acceptance. I’d have to say it’s been very discouraging (even had someone ask for $300K for a property worth $15K).

I guess my question is did I maybe pick a bad area to start? Is there too much competition in Florida? The tax delinquent list was available on the county website, so I’m assuming many people have access to it and that probably makes it a competitive area to work in.

Has any one else had a similar experience and/or have any advice to offer? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

@rphil99, FL is obviously a big state, but having mailed to some FL counties repeatedly over the past 2 years, I have definitely seen a difference over that time, myself. The counties I’ve mailed there seem to be a bit oversaturated with investors at the moment, in my view. I’ve had many property owners mention having received stacks of mailers from investors, and their expectations in terms of selling price seem to have gone up accordingly, to a point that I can’t justify paying.