Advice on company name (direct mail)

Hi guys, I’m new to land investing but not new to real estate, I’m a buy-and-hold multi-family investor. Just bought the Mastermind course and going through the videos. I like the advice Seth gave in the course about using different business name for buying land vs selling, since a name tailored towards selling may be interpreted more negatively by the recipient of an offer.

I’m clueless about what the typical seller looks like who would be interested in selling land, so I wanted to get some advice on what image people who’re already successful in this business go for? Does a mom-and-pop-sounding name work better or should it be something boring like “webuyland”? Does a personal name work better? Should it be an American-sounding name? Does it vary based on the market? Do some names work better in rural areas vs infill?

Thanks

Hi @investomation, good question. I always get stumped on this kind of thing too, because I’m exceedingly good at overthinking things, haha.

I’ve seen people do well in this business with professional, corporate-sounding names. I’ve also seen people do well with some pretty wacky, cheesy, and even off-topic names (things that have nothing to do with land or real estate).

My point is, the name itself is actually a fairly minor consideration in the grand scheme of things.

Some things to keep in mind are:

• Is the domain name available for this name (or something similar to it)?
  • Try to keep it short and memorable.
  • Try to make it distinct, so people don’t confuse your name with something else, or some other land company.

In case this helps, I just requested this from Chat GPT and it gave me some pretty good examples…

TerraVest: This name combines “terra,” which means land, with “vest,” which implies investing. It’s short, memorable, and distinct.

Landify: This name incorporates “land” into a verb, which could suggest a focus on action and growth. It’s also easy to say and spell.