FIRPTA - Tax implications of buying property from foreign sellers

I'm in the process of trying to close a purchase transaction for a vacant lot where the seller is not a US citizen, and he does not live in the US (but the property is located here), and in case anyone else ever finds themselves in this situation, especially if trying to do a self-closing or working with a title company that may not be experienced at dealing with foreign sellers, I wanted to share what I've learned about FIRPTA, the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act.

This refers to a particular type of tax withholding from the proceeds that would otherwise go to the foreign Seller, that are required to be done at the time of the transaction closing, with the withheld funds to be sent to the IRS along with Form 8288 within 20 days of the closing. I'm not a lawyer, but based on the various webpages I've read about FIRPTA, including IRS.gov pages and other ones from accounting / tax law firms like this one, the default withholding rate is 15% of the total sale price, and the requirement falls on the "withholding agent" to ensure that these funds are withheld from the Seller and are sent to the IRS. From what I've read on pages like this one, "Every person who controls, holds custody of, receives, disposes of, or pays any item of income to a foreign person that is subject to foreign withholding is a withholding agent." So this could be the title company, or if you're doing a self-closing it would be you, and if the withholding agent fails to comply, they can be held liable by the IRS for paying the 15% amount themselves. This is why I say this could be so critical for anyone doing self-closings, in particular.