Got a land deal stuck because of septic system costs, should I back out of the deal?

Hi guys! So I am new to this land investing journey as I started last summer. I’ve landed 1 deal, double closed. It was great! But unfortunately, my next 2 deals got stuck with the need for a quiet title suit which takes months. One parcel I’m sure is worth the wait but the other, not so much. The issue is that the property requires an aerobic system which is $10-$20K to install. I received an offer on the property which later backed out once they learned that this type of system is required.

I was told earlier on by 2 realtors that the property was worth $16K by one agent and the other said it would probably sell for more than that. But now I’m not so sure. I’m in it for $5,350.00 plus closing costs. I would like to sell this property on terms but I don’t want to close on it without a buyer and it looks like the quiet title suit will be over soon. Should I back out with the seller? Is it too late to due so? The Purchase Agreement does have contingencies built into it concerning the Buyer’s satisfactory due diligence. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Lining up a buyer first for a property like that would be the smart play. The problem with inexpensive properties that require expensive upgrades is that it’s difficult to find a buyer who’s willing to put $20,000 into a $10,000 property.

Whether or not it’s time for you to cancel is kind of up to you. What if you were to just price the property in a way that you could get your money back and count this as a learning experience? How quickly do you think you could sell it?

1 Like