How to start the conversation??

Hey everyone! I am a newbie, but very optimistic with this business model. I have sent out my first mail campaign using general postcards, and I received my first few leads. I’m hoping I receive more, but I’m having a hard time knowing how to start the conversation with the potential seller. I have the checklist from the Masterclass I have on hand, but I don’t want to dive in to just asking questions about the property. I want to build a rapport, and I’m just sort of stuck on how to lead the conversation. Do I explain exactly what I’m looking for? Property at a massive discount? I feel like that will immediately be a turn-off for the seller if we haven’t built that “trust” yet. Any advice would be appreciated.

@chelseamyers hey, Chelsea. I usually start by asking questions about the property to show that I’m trying to determine the appropriate offer. Not only does it help you come to a proper amount, but it shows them that you are discerning and not just out there to throw money around. And then, when you make your offer, you can say “based on what you’ve told me about the land, and the due diligence we’ve performed, here is our offer.” Questions are always a great way to start a conversation.
Don’t be afraid to make low offers, and be ready to have a lot of them rejected. It’s just the way it is, and you need to build up some callouses to it.
From one Myers to another, best of luck.

5 Likes

@chelseamyers

Chelsea,
Here are some things to that I remind myself of when I feel I don’t know what all to say.

1. If I blow them all this time doesn’t mean I can’t call back in 6 months. And I do.
  2. Don’t value one lead so much that I don’t call it for fear I’ll never get another shot.
  3. Go get more leads. I always do better from a place of confidence like having another 1000 leads to call.