Landlocked Property

Hi All - I’m pretty new to flipping land but I’ve been listening to podcasts and following the forums for the past 6 months. Just sent out my first few mailers and am getting some interesting deals coming my way.

One I’m having trouble with is a potentially landlocked property in Arkansas. It was bought as part of a subdivision that never actually got developed. 95% of the area is owned by one person (in a trust), the rest being my potential property and three other, small landlocked parcels behind it (I’ve considered selling to these owners but if they aren’t interested, I’m SOL). There is a dirt road leading from the county road to the parcel I have under contract, which is shown on the original plat map but as far as I can tell is not public. There is also no record of an easement with the circuit clerk or planning department.

The seller told me he’s accessed the property just fine over the 40 years he’s owned it but the owner of the larger property does have a gate where the dirt road meets the county road which is sometimes closed.

If the road is on the original plat map - does it count as public? If the seller has used the road for so many years could there be a claim for adverse possession? (I know AR has pretty stringent laws about this that tend to deny access.)

This would be my first deal and has the potential for a large profit on about a $5,000 investment. Would it be worth consulting a local real estate lawyer? Or should I move onto less risky deals?

The seller also has a smaller property close by that he would like to sell that seems less risky. I may just move to buy that one instead.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

I’ve seen countless deals like this. There are a lot of subdivisions like this out there, that were mapped out but never fully developed.

@bgarinther said in Landlocked Property: