LLC creation for liability protection

I live in CA, have rental properties in CA, FL and NC. I am trying to assess where I should setup my LLC so I have maximum liability protection and tax advantage. Any advice? Any law firm that you feel is good at this?

@inventivebuyer

I’m not a lawyer, so take this for what it’s worth. I have started many LLCs as well as multiple C-corps, an S-corp, several sole proprietorships and had and have DBAs.

If you’re liable for a problem and you’re not formed as an entity, insurance may help but the statistics say they rarely pay out, leaving you personally liable. To avoid personal liability you need to be organized as an entity - LLC or corporation, whichever is right for you. There is no one-size-fits-all answer and ignore every expert (there are several who are very visible) who tells you how you need to be organized after a 15 minute consultation.

For trustworthy advice I’ve found that KKOS lawyers (Mark Kohler, website by the same name without the space and with .com) are the best. Read “Lawyers are Liars” and “Tax and Legal Playbook” (two of Kohler’s books) before you think of hiring anyone to help. What he will tell you is if you are not registered to do business in the state where you own property, you have no LLC protection for that property no matter what name is on the deed. He advocates registering your business in an entity - not a sole proprietorship and not a DBA - where you live and either setting up additional LLCs in the states where you do business or registering as a foreign corporation there.