Need Y'alls Wisdom: Naming Land Buying Company

Hi All,

Likely overthinking this, but trying to strategize on a name for a land buying company. *Disclaimer: newbie here, and have not yet sent a mailer. Coming at this question with no experience besides theory.

Do most land investors try to spell out the fact that they are a company that buys land in their name? Something like “FirstName Buys Land” or something like “Sell Your Land With Us Company”

I see a lot of this out there and I’m wondering if that’s a smart way to increase open/response rates when sending letters. I’m thinking that with a name like “I Want To Buy Your Land” the recipient of a letter would immediately know what the letter they received is about before even opening it and would open it if they were interested in selling land. As opposed to a name like “RandomAdjective Land Company” where it isn’t immediately clear what this company is about and why they are receiving the mail until after they open the letter, which might lead to throwing the mail piece away before opening.

Let me know your thoughts! I know I may be overthinking, but just trying to make sure I don’t overlook strategies to help make the most of my mail campaigns before I start sending.

Thanks!

@keithb I would go with short and memorable. It’s not imperative that “land” or “real estate” or “properties” is included in the name… but it doesn’t hurt.

My biggest recommendation would be, don’t give people a BIG, long name to remember. The fewer characters they have to type when visiting your website or sending you an email, the better (every additional character is an opportunity for them to mistype it and not get to your website).

1 Like

@keithb

Never name something after a body of water. Especially if this body of water lies near you.