New and Hitting County Roadblocks

Hi everyone. I’m new to land flipping and having some difficulty obtaining delinquent tax lists. I’ve reached out to about 10 counties so far and only obtained one (small) list. The county officials I’ve spoken with all seem to think I’m referring to the list of properties for the tax lien sale rather than the ones that owe money on an existing tax lien. When I clarify what I’m looking for, all but one claimed they didn’t publish the list.
italicised text
Has anyone else run into this issue? Am I maybe asking for the wrong thing or is it the states I’ve chosen to start with (Wyoming and Colorado)? Thank you in advance!

@mmehring96
Yes, i had the same problem with tax lists. The other issue I ran into, was the county wanted outrageous amounts of money for the list. My home county said $1,000 dollars for the list! I have sense stepped away from delinquent tax lists at this time. But will revisit them in the future possibly.

@mmehring96 Wyoming is a non-disclosure state, which could have something to do with the difficulty you’re having there.

As for Colorado, I’m not sure about that one. I don’t recall the last time I tried to get it from there, but I’m not sure why they would withhold it, aside from just the normal issues of county employees being difficult or incompetent. How many different counties have you tried in CO?

@gwilkins234 $1,000 for a list?? Wow. Was that a flat-rate, or the total after tallying up the cost per parcel? I’ve encountered a few outrageous ones like that in the past (counties that would charge $2+ per parcel, etc), and those counties make the decision pretty simple, “No thanks!”

@retipsterseth

Hey Seth,

Yea, I live in NY, so everything here is expensive. I am not sure if it was a tallied list or not. The email just said $1,000 for the list and I said thanks but no thanks. I will find other ways to get property to start. I also have had some issues with counties calling or emailing back.