New to land

Hi Everyone - I have been doing real estate as a side hustle for about 10 years. I’ve done single family, vacation rentals, and recently my first commercial property. I’m lookIng to diversify further and am interested in land. I live in Texas and have a ton of resources in the area so I think I could do well here. I’m looking for some advice on how to get started in land. I am a frequent podcast listener and read some of the forums. I was thinking of taking some courses to get started learning more but not sure where to begin. I would be interested in getting some advice on this! Looking forward to being part of the community!

@beardedcoffeeguy welcome! What are your questions? Is there anything you are confused or wondering about? Be specific about what you want to know and we’ll try to help!

Hi @charlotteirwin ! Thanks for the reply! When it comes to land it seems that everyone is sending out mailers first and targeted the tax delinquent property list. Listening to some of the podcast especially Eddie Speed and Doug Smith interviews the both mention paying close to market and just looking at the MLS. Is this just because they are doing bigger deals? Are the mailers mainly for smaller land flips? Working off the MLS is something I understand well and have the resources for. Mailers is something I know nothing about. I’m planning to do some training on land investing and just want to make sure I focus on the right areas . Pretty much all the courses I have seen so far seem to focus on mailers, offering 50 cents on the dollar and then flipping. If this is the best route then I’ll absolutely do it but just testing this theory before I dive in.

@beardedcoffeeguy