Seller Financing in New York

Hi all- I’m fairly new to the group and this is my first time really digging into the forum which is an amazing source of information. I catch myself loosing focus and reading thread after thread of all the questions and comments. You can really fall down a rabbit hole in here, I love it! I recently purchased a small lot in New York and have it listed for sale. I received multiple requests for seller financing and I’ve been reluctant because I just want to sell the land for cash and move on. However, now I’m starting to entertain the idea and I have a few questions for the group:

Has anyone sold land in NY using seller financing? Are there legal parameters to do so? Can anyone share an example or template on how to structure a deal? Also, what conditions do you add to the contract? Are the buyers allowed to cut down trees? Build? Make improvements?

I appreciate all the help I can get on this topic. Thank you!

Congrats on your deal @longviewland59! I hear you on the seller financing issue. I've never done seller financing in New York, but whenever I'm looking at this kind of thing in a new territory, I'll pay an attorney to make sure it's done right the first time, and as part of it, I'll request their templates so I can do future deals myself (even if I have to pay more for it).

The idea is to have an educated set of eyes looking at everything on your first go-around, so they can answer these questions for you and make sure you're catching any potential problems.

In terms of what conditions to add in the contract, you can see all of my standard conditions in the downloads that come in Module 8 of the course. The wording of the contract and/or purchase agreement will probably vary from state to state, but just in terms of what you do and don't want to allow the borrower to do, you can see all of my suggestions in those templates.