Seller wants quitclaim deed - what to do?

Hi, I have the opportunity to buy some parcels, where I see a great deal. I sent out a blind offer with an attached purchase agreement (LIM sample saying we will use a title company with title insurance) to the owner; he accepted it but sent the following email:

“I did receive the offer, signed it and returned it. I did have a question if we could do a quit claim deed rather than a warranty deed.”

I am new to the business, but I understand the differences between a quitclaim deed and a warranty deed. I know what a quitclaim deed is. I assume that there might be a problem with the title of the property, so my questions are:

1. Should I walk away from the deal?
  2. What is the best way to proceed? What should I answer?
  3. Do you have any other causes in mind why he would want to do that?

FYI: I contacted a local title company to receive an offer for closing the deal and title insurance before I received his email.

Thank you!

@niclas-hk good question. I’ve heard it said, “Never accept a quit claim deed,” and I can see why that’s the typical attorney answer, but from my non-attorney perspective, it’s just a question of how well you’ve done your homework to verify that the title is clear.

Also, keep in mind, there can be some title problems that come up in the futuyre even though they were never recorded, and that’s where I think title companies get hung up on this issue. You can never be 100% sure that the title is clear, but you can get pretty close if you know what to look for and where to find it.

So, if you’re confident in your title searching abilities (or whoever is doing the search for you) AND if you’re also planning to use a Quit Claim Deed when you sell it (because if you use a Warranty Deed, you’d be putting yourself on the hook when the person you bought from isn’t guaranteeing anything), then I could see how there’s a case to be made for doing this.