Where to buy and sell real estate notes?

Is there some kind of centralized online marketplace where investors can go to buy and sell real estate notes? I’m envisioning something like eBay or Craigslist, but only for notes.

There must be something like this out there, right?

@seanjean, yes, there are a few of these, like NotesDirect and Paperstac. FCI used to have a notes marketplace that I personally liked the structure of, because much like eBay it was third party sellers, and they had note listings with "Buy It Now" prices and the ability to make an offer to the seller for some lower price; but they abruptly shut it down a year or two ago.

I am by no means an expert on notes, but in my limited experience I have consistently found it very difficult to find deals with numbers that make sense to me on any of the public marketplaces that I've come across. To me, it feels very similar to trying to find good deals on properties on the MLS in a hot market. Sure, they probably come up from time to time, but you better know what you're looking for and be ready to jump on them fast when they do; and the truly successful investors are finding ways to generate off-market deals -- which in the case of notes can mean approaching lenders directly to buy their non-performing notes, or networking with the more experienced investors who do so, and picking through their leftovers. I've heard it said by others more experienced in notes than I am that the marketplaces are where the leftover notes end up after 3 or 4 iterations of investors have cherry picked all the good notes from a lender's list of assets. I imagine that's not universally true, but probably has some degree of validity to it.

2 Likes