Agents: Disclosing REALTOR status?

This is a question for other agents and members of the REALTOR association.

According to Article 12 of the REALTOR code of ethics we're required to disclose that we are real estate proffesionals in all real estate communication. I have a few questions on this as it pertains to land flipping.

1. It's my interpretation as well as my principle broker's that I must disclose this info when sending out mailers. Would you agree?

2. Do you feel disclosing this might scare away potential sellers who receive my mailers? Or do you think it would work to my advantage?

3. Depending on your answer to number 2, how would you minimize the negative effects of this disclosure? On the flip side are there any ways to maximize the benefits if any?

4. Have you noticed any good or bad responses due to your status as a REALTOR?

5. What methods have you used to disclose this?

I am a realtor in Washington, and there are specific requirements for what you need to disclose and where. It will vary by state, but for electronic formats such as Twitter, you can provide a link to a disclosure. NAR Code of Ethics 12-5 requires disclosure of your brokerage’s name. For a postcard, you could sign it with your name, brokerage, and license # in a visible but unobtrusive place.

Disclaimer: Check with a real estate attorney in your state, but I think that you will find: 1) if you are buying and selling in a state where you are unlicensed, these rules do not apply, and 2) if you are licensed in the state but you are not acting on behalf of your brokerage for the benefit of a client, then this rule does not apply.