New method to retrieve comps with data scraper

Hi Seth,

I’m new to the land investing world and I really appreciate all the knowledge you have to share. You and the community have really helped me hit the ground running.

I’m not sure if you are familiar with website scrapers, but I think I found a good method to download a massive number of comps from LandWatch. If you have a minute, I can show you so you can share with others.

Best,
Todd

@tmillen welcome to the forum!

Sounds interesting. I’m familiar with website scrapers, but I can’t say I use them much myself. Feel free to share what you know with the community! I’m sure everyone would love to hear more.

@retipsterseth Sounds good!

Ok, I saw the super helpful REtipster tutorial on pulling comps from Redfin but, for whatever reason, I was not given that option when I ran a query. Maybe Redfin took the option down or maybe it is an issue with my browser. Not sure.

Anyway! I looked for an alternate way to pull data from Websites and I came across a Google Chrome extension that blew my mind!

The extension (linked below) allows you to scrape entire lists from any website (Zillow, Redfin, LandWatch, etc.) with no limitations. You can literally pull 10,000 lines of data if you want. It’s also incredibly easy to use because it has AI that recognizes webpage formatting. Before finding this option, I tried 3 other scrapers and this one was by far the easiest and most intuitive.

All you need to do is go to your website of choice, put in your query filter, and then run the scraper. I know that some people (like myself) are visual learners, so let me know if you need me to show you.

There’s just one final step. Once you get the data into Excel, you just need to write a basic Excel formula to grab the Acres out of a text field.

Link for “Instant Data Scraper”:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/instant-data-scraper/ofaokhiedipichpaobibbnahnkdoiiah/related