Poor response rate from direct mail campaign. Looking for advice.

Hi everyone,

I recently sent out my first mailer to Tennessee of 500 post cards using the notice template. I only got around 6 call backs and two of them were people asking for me to take them off my mailing list. The other 4 I didn't get any deals from. I know at the very minimum your supposed to get a 2% response rate. Do you guys have any advice for me? I am a college student and working on a limited budget. Should I send out another mailer or should I try to find deeply discounted property another way?

What kind of list did you use? Where did you get it from and how did you filter it?

There are obviously a lot of variables that can make or break a direct mail campaign, but the quality of your list is (in my experience) the #1 most important issue by far.

If response rate is what you're most concerned with, you should try a delinquent tax list (if you haven't already). They're almost always a pain to get and worth with, but if you have the patience for it and you filter it well, it usually delivers some pretty good results.

1 Like

Thank you for the response!

I pulled my list from agentpro247 with the filters of out of state owners, and residential vacant land. I also made sure to get rid of any incomplete addresses and duplicates from the list before I mailed it. All of the postcards reached the recipients other than a couple of them which got sent back to me. I have gotten a couple of delinquent tax lists in the past but never mailed to them because they usually were missing information. I think I will try to get some delinquent tax lists in different counties that are hopefully more complete.